Endurance 1000 Swims

The Endurance 1000 program is a swimming program designed to encourage people to compete in distances from 400m to 60 minutes duration in a variety of strokes. The program is entirely optional and to achieve the required goals (which relate to gender and age groupings) the swims are done over the calendar year.

Points are gained for the completion of each different event (400m, 800m, 1500m, 30 mins, 45 mins, 60 mins). These combine with points gained by fellow club members and contribute to a total point score for each competing club.

Timing for the Endurance 1000 is done at the Friday night training sessions and an occasional Sunday morning Endurance Swim Session. Des Mulqueen is the Endurance 1000 Co-ordinator within the club.

Winner Runner Up
2008 Eithne Mayton 150 points Maddi Edgley-Smith 49 points
2009 Eithne Mayton 165 points Jenny Mulqueen 140 points
2010 Jenny Mulqueen Eithne Mayton
2011 Jenny Mulqueen Rachel Smith
2012 Jenny Mulqueen 425 points Rachel Smith 236 points
2013 Rachel Smith 601 points Helen Haberfield 511 points
2014 Karen Mentha 726 points Jenny Mulqueen 420 points
2015 John Gamlen
2016 Helen Haberfield John Gamlen
2017 Rosalind Gumbys 1005 points Helen Haberfield
2018 Rosalind Gumbys 1005 points Helen Haberfield 470 points